We have assembled national and international CRP pioneers and respected thought leaders who can guide and participate in the activities of the Collaborative.


Thomas H. Gallagher, M.D.
Executive Director

Steve Levy
Director of Patient Safety Programs

Paulina Osinska, M.P.H.


Jeffrey Driver, J.D., M.B.A.
Immediate Past Board President, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement
CEO, The Risk Authority Stanford

Brian Atchinson
President & CEO, PIAA (Physician Insurers Association of America)

Richard Boothman, J.D.
Executive Director, Clinical Safety and Chief Risk Officer, University of Michigan Health System

Thomas Gallagher, M.D.
Executive Director, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement
Professor and Associate Chair of Medicine; Director, UW Medicine Center for Scholarship in Patient Care Quality & Safety; University of Washington

Carole Hemmelgarn, M.S., M.S.
Patient Advocate

Linda Kenney
Executive Director and President, Medically Induced Trauma Support Services

Timothy McDonald, M.D., J.D.
Director, Center for Open and Honest Communication, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety

Brian M. Parker, M.D.
Board President, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement
Associate Chief Medical Officer, Allegheny Health Network

Melissa Parkerton, M.A.
Interim Executive Director, Oregon Patient Safety Commission

Eric J. Thomas, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Dean of Healthcare Quality
Professor of Medicine, University of Texas Medical School at Houston


This group of distinguished CRP experts includes patient advocates, patient safety experts, clinicians, academics, professional association leaders, and liability insurance professionals. The Collaborative reaches out to this group regularly to engage their guidance and perspective on its work.

Nikki Centomani
Director, Office of Patient Safety Loyola University

Robin Hemphil, M.D., M.P.H.
Chief Patient Safety & Risk Awareness Office, Veterans Health Administration

Marsha Hughes
VP Risk Management, Physician Insurance, A Mutual Company

Clare M. Kelly
Executive Vice President & CEO, Iowa Medical Society

Allen B. Kachalia, M.D.
Chief Quality Officer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Steve Kraman, M.D.
Professor of Pulmonary, Critical Care, & Sleep Medicine, University of Kentucky

Bruce Lambert, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Communication and Health, Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Northwestern University

Alan Lembitz, M.D., M.M.M.
Chief Medical Officer, COPIC Insurance Company

Kathy Mazor, Ed.D.
Associate Director, Meyers Primary Care Institute, University of Massachusetts Medical School

Marcia Rhodes
Director, UW Medicine & Health Sciences Risk Management, University of Washington

Jo Shapiro, M.D.
Chief, Division of Otolaryngology, Director, Center for Professionalism and Peer Support, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Michael C. Stinson, J.M.
Vice President of Government Relations & Public Policy, PIAA

David Troxel, M.D.
Medical Director, The Doctors Company

Gordon Wallace, M.D., FRCPC
Director of Education, The Canadian Medical Protective Association

John Walpole
Area Senior Vice President Insurance & Risk Management, North America, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

Alan Woodward, M.D., FACEP
Past President, MACRMI/Massachusetts Medical Society